Many Hats

Friday night, Pizza and Movie Night was back in full swing.  Only, instead of the usual toppings, I threw on some green peppers this time.  Rebel.  And because I was thinking ahead, I chopped up a bunch of extra onions for guacamole for Saturday.  🙂  Multi-tasker.  We attempted to watch Megamind and almost made it through, but once Seba crashed, I didn’t care about finishing the rest of the movie.  

Saturday morning, I left around 7 for a 5-miler, and ended up walking about half of it.  Lazy. But it was still a nice way to get out on my own for an hour and enjoy the morning, sunny as it was.  When I got back, I stayed with Seba while the mister went to maintenance the car and work for a while.  We like our alone time in the mornings, though, so we spent some time reading the map, washing the dishes, and other household chores. Housewife/Mom/Teacher/Maid.  I also stared fear and disgust in the face, as I did something I never dreamed I would do.  I prepared portobellos, in marinade, for lunch.  I detest mushrooms, but I really want to like them, and the marinade wasn’t too bad on them, but I’m more than willing to try other recommendations for the latest in fungal cuisine!  The marinade I used was a mixture of oil and tamari, a little rice vinegar, and lots o’ chopped garlic. Fearless.

In the evening, we went to church, and came home for a quiet dinner, as the young’n fell asleep on the way home.  Yet another day without a nap, which turned into a night without dinner or a bath.  :/  Since it was early and oh-so-quiet, I attempted to read, but my long lost friends from Florida called me via internet for a video chat!  I was pretty pumped, since it’s been a while since we talked, and it was 3 am their time!  Those Miami girls just never stop!  I love and miss them like crazy.  Giddy Girlfriend.

This morning, I made some oats for myself.  Half a cup oats, 1/2 scoop chia seeds, 2 tbsp homemade blackberry jam (just mashed blackberries with ground flax), 1/2 cup blueberries, 1/2 packet stevia, and water.  I mixed everything but the water last night and threw it in the fridge.  I know overnight oats are served cold, but I usually want something warm for breakfast, whether it’s 100 degrees outside or not.  Fortunately, it’s almost always in the 60s or low 70s overnight here, so I wake up perfectly refreshed.  Temperature-wise, anyway.  So, the oats were pretty tasty, but I think next time I’ll add some agave in addition to everything else, because the berries were pretty tart.

I rarely deviate from my breakfasts, but I wanted to start working on my gluten-free options, and we went to donate blood this morning, so I knew I’d need something a little heavier than usual.  Wise.  I still drank my green chai, and had the granola and juice they offered to me on the blood mobile.  Hero/Lifesaver.

We walked around the mall (where the blood mobile was parked) for a while, had some burritos for lunch, and headed home.  It doesn’t look like there is a nap in my future any time soon, so I’ll be trying my darndest to keep my boy happy.  We might need to make a date with the pool this afternoon.

Leave a Reply

