Doing Raw

It’s another late evening over here, so I’ll make this post short and sweet.  I just wanted to stop by to catch up with the latest and greatest, which actually aren’t anything remarkable, but there are a few new dishes we’ve had, so I wanted to share!

Banana Oatmeal.  I have never liked banana bread, but lately I’ve been craving warm, gooey bananas, hence all the banana pancakes.  It would have been easy just to make those again, but since I’m trying to cut back little by little on all the gluten-containing ingredients I use, I decided to make this:

I made a big batch for Seba and me, so I mashed up two bananas, added about a cup of ground oats and a cup of whole oats (I didn’t use certified gluten-free), a splash of vanilla, a pinch of salt, and cranberries.  And then, obviously, hot water until it was creamy enough.  Not a fan of super sticky oats.

These were really good, easy, and filling. Between Seba and I, we couldn’t even finish off one cup.  That’s what I call a satisfying breakfast.  The mister took the leftovers (all of them!) for dessert.

I didn’t add any sweetener to this because I think the banana takes care of everything, but it might need a little something extra for those of you that enjoy extravagance.  I’m a plain Jane kind of gal when it comes to breakfast, though.

 
Playgroup was this morning.  There’s always a small gaggle of moms that get together in the park, but the official playgroup for the community meets Tuesday mornings.  It was looking slightly gloomy, which is good news for me, because I usually walk or run down with Seba to meet all the kiddos and the Uncle who leads the program.  Five minutes down the road, I knew it was going to be a scorcher, and I was in tight, knee-length denim cutoffs and a not-so-forgiving cotton shirt.  Awesome.  Playgroup itself was perfect, under a huge shady banyan tree, and the breeze through the park is mostly constant.  But the walk home always looms over me, and sure enough, right around noon, the sun was straight overhead.  Not such a bad thing, but the crater, as always, made me hurt so good.  🙂

Anyway, when I peeled all the sweaty clothes off of me and had drunk all I could drink, I wanted a light meal to satiate my empty belly. After a little Google search for raw meals, I came across this little beauty from the twins at Pure2Raw: vegan lasagna.

Sadly, I am still out of tomatoes, but I still had plenty of crispity, crunchety carrots ready and raring to go.  My pesto was also completely different; I ground about 1/4 cup of almonds into a semi-coarse meal, added two kale leaves, a few good splashes of lemon, a pinch or two of sea salt, and about 2 teaspoons of nutritional yeast.  Definitely a “green”-tasting pesto, but I love how fresh it tastes on such a hot day.  My sauerkraut is out-of-control good, by the way.

I really was impressed with this lasagna, though it’s nothing like a true lasagna should be.  We followed ours up with half a banana each and some carob-chia pudding from OSG.  (Instead of maple syrup, I used a packet of stevia, dry.  I also didn’t use carob powder, nor did I substitute.  I just lessened the liquid a little bit.)  So yummy.

Dinner was a gigantic salad with pintos, corn, and some other veggies with lemon-oil dressing.

In the morning we are going to hang out with Seba’s best friend (the neighbor) in our garden.  She’s going on vacation for a little while, so we’re going to do a brunch picnic.  I prepared some carob almond balls and some coconut macaroons.  Both raw, too.  I’m on a roll!  🙂

Leave a Reply

