Cantina Loca

Okay, I just need to say that I am not above good, old-fashioned fast food.  I mean, I grew up in the 80s, with my Happy Meals and sodas, and every now and then, I just go for it.  Of course, there’s not much out there even in this day in age for vegans.  Fries?  Lettuce bowls?  No, thank you.  Except for maybe the fries…

The other day we were out and we just needed burritos, so we stopped at Taco Bell.  I’ll confess that this was actually my birthday lunch!  Anyhoo, I’m not sure when this started, but they now apparently have Cantina Bowls as part of their menu.  What a nice surprise!  Who doesn’t love avocado and cilantro all over black beans?  Oh, dear.  I chose the burrito version, but I totally could have gone for the salad bowl version, too.  Especially since we don’t have Q’doba or Chipotle over here and I love their naked burritos!  (Come on, you guys, get with the program!  Hawai’i needs you!)

So today, I set out to recreate this seemingly easy “gourmet” fast-food dish.  Unfortunately, it’s grocery week, and we are out of avocado.  No cilantro to speak of, either.  Or tomatoes, for that matter.  What was I to do?  My go-to sauce, of course!

I blended tahini with lemon, chives, salt and water, and while it doesn’t give you that cilantro-fresh kind of thing, the chives gave it a little something extra.  I made a corn salsa with a tiny bit of tomato paste, lemon, sweet peppers, and garlic.  And the black beans soaked overnight and I cooked them today with onion and garlic.

My bowl went a little something like this:  Lettuce.  Warm black beans.  Sauce.  Corn salsa.

It was pretty stellar, if you’re into those lovely Latin flavors like I am.  I imagine it’s going off the charts when I get my hands on some avocado and cilantro! I better make a trip to Chinatown soon.  They sell huge bunches of cilantro and basil and other herbs for a buck each.  Whaaaa?  Their produce is usually one of the best deals around, too.  Never you mind that it might be a little shady!

The boys had some brown rice and artichoke on the side.  Seba and I had a pretty big lunch of brown rice and stir-fry veggies, so I opted out filling up on grains again tonight.  Brown rice fills me up much quicker than anything else!

This morning Seba and I went for a jog to playgroup, which meets in the park.  My hip is still a little jacked up–weird–but it felt fine while we were out on the road, so I just took it slow and easy for a mile and a half.  After playgroup, we just walked to the store for art supplies for rainy day fun, and then back home.  All in all, we covered close to four miles, and after pushing a heavy kid in a heavy stroller straight up to the top of an extinct volcano–where we live–I consider it close to 20 miles.  🙂  I’ll see how I’m feeling in the morning, and I’ll decide then if it’s going to be another running day, or maybe a beach day.  Life is rough.

Leave a Reply

