Like A Good Neighbor

A couple months ago, a new family moved into our building downstairs–another mamá and her 2-year old daughter!  She and Seba have become quite a pair, in the pool, at the park, in the garden, you name it!  Seba also has a tendency to eat everything in sight, including his friend’s food!  It’s embarrassing for me, because I feed him.  I do!

I’m telling you this because we invited them over for carob cake, and to finally try to make up for all the goodies my sneaky snacker snuck from his friend!  And what does she do?  She brought over several huge, freshly-picked collards from her garden!  The nerve of some people!  Maybe I’ll bake them a couple loaves of this!

So yes, I’m still pretty Kentucky, but I don’t know much about cooking collard greens, so I just ended up steaming them for a few minutes, until they were semi-wilted, and I tossed them with tahina.  It was the best. thing. ever.  Really!

Collard Greens

Rinse collards.  Tear leaves as you like and place in pot or pan over low heat with a little water.  Cover and let steam for 5ish minutes.

Tahina

For a small batch, use about 1/4 cup of sesame seeds, a couple splashes of water and lemon juice, two or three pinches of salt, small glove of garlic (or garlic powder), small pinch of pepper and drizzle of olive oil (optional).  Grind until you’ve reached the desired consistency.  You’ll probably need to add a little more water or lemon, but I like mine pretty thick.

These were super tasty, and I actually ate them at 9:30 in the morning!  Is that kind of weird for you?  Yeah, but you would have eaten them, too, I bet!  So good!  These also brought to mind my kale chips, which I’m still perfecting, but I’ll give you the quickie version.  I made two flavors:  Cheesy Dijon and Sesame-Tamari.  The first ones are by far the best, because the tamari leaves the kale a little sticky and without much crunch factor!  The flavor is a little more bitter, too, but I still thought they were pretty good.  I’ve had to warm up to kale over time, but now I kind of love it, and I plan to make another huge batch of these tonight for our hike tomorrow!  I’ll try to come up with something a little different for the tamari and see what I end up with!

Kale Chips
*Use two kale leaves for each flavor, torn into small pieces.  They will shrivel as they cook, so don’t make them too small.

For the Cheesy Dijon, place kale in a bowl with 1/2 tsp. nooch (nutritional yeast), 1/2 tsp. dijon, and a pinch of salt (but the dijon and nooch are already pretty salty!) and a splash of olive oil (optional).  Massage the kale and position on a baking pan or sheet.

For the Sesame-Tamari, place kale in a bowl with 1/2 tsp. sesame oil (I used sesame dressing), and a tiny splash of tamari.  Massage the kale and position on a baking pan or sheet.

*These can be baked at 200° for a couple hours (until the kale is pretty wilted).  Just toss them around every so often.  Once they have cooled, they should be nice and crunchy!  I have also baked these with other things at a much higher temperature, and they turned out just fine, but they can burn really easily.  I know a lot of people dehydrate them, but I don’t have a dehydrator, so I can’t advise you there!

And just for good measure, let me tell you about this afternoon’s smoothie:  1/2 cup pineapple juice, 1/2 cup orange juice, 1 small banana.  For those of you not living in the islands, this will make you feel like you’re here!

One final note. Here is last night’s pizza from pizza and movie night! Veggies with tofu “feta” that didn’t actually taste like feta. Still an amazing pizza. 🙂

Happy weekend, friends!  Aloha!

One thought on “Like A Good Neighbor

  1. Pingback: Recipes « Food, Family, and Fitness

Leave a Reply

