Scrambles!

Image

Tofu Scramble and Avocado, on our classic plastic toddler plates in bright orange!

Eggs and I have had a tumultuous relationship over time.  As a girl, I’d only eat hard boiled egg whites because yolk was just too chalky.  Growing up, eggs were never my first choice of breakfast foods; even as an adult, I wouldn’t have chosen them over cereal!

When I was in the beginning stages of my pregnancy, I couldn’t stand the smell of coffee, much less of eggs!  (We were in Chile at the time and my mother-in-law was in the kitchen from sun up to sun down.)  A few weeks later, I couldn’t get enough egg salad, scrambled eggs, and hard boiled eggs.  Moms out there, you know what I’m saying.  Eggs with peanut butter and jelly sandwiches were pretty much my staple diet for nearly 40 weeks.  More recently, something clicked, and I somehow lost all cravings for cheese and eggs.  The body is a curious animal.

So, when I suddenly feel overcome with a lust for eggs these days, I opt for scrambled tofu, taking this recipe from the PPK and running with it.  I do everything to taste with this, so you really can’t go wrong, no matter how you do it.  I cut off a slice from my block of extra firm tofu and let it marinate for a few minutes in the following:  dollop of dijon, pinch of sea salt (or splash of tamari, depending on your mood!), garlic powder, black pepper, and a hefty pinch of nutritional yeast. I dump it into a shallow pan over low to medium heat (add oil if your pans tend to stick!), and cook until it looks brown on the outside.  Mine usually takes about 10 minutes or so.

*Disclaimer:  Scrambled tofu is similar in texture to scrambled eggs, but they don’t taste the same, so if you’re looking for something along those lines, you won’t find that here.  I actually prefer this tofu to my old eggs, though, and you can combine flavors to make tofu taste like just about anything!

It’s the mister’s birthday, so Seba and I have been busy preparing a carob cake with a homemade caramel drizzle between the layers!  If it turns out to be as delicious as it looks, I’ll send the details your way!

In the meantime, can anyone tell me your favorite ways to use tofu?  I’m always looking for new ideas!  Mahalo!

3 thoughts on “Scrambles!

  1. Pingback: Recipes « Food, Family, and Fitness

  2. Pingback: The Eggplant Thing « La Mama Vegana

  3. Pingback: Southern Charm « La Mama Vegana

Leave a Reply

