Longevity

How was your weekend?  Ours was a whirlwind.

Friday was pizza and a movie night, of course.  Pizza was our standard veggie, with half smothered in colby jack for the boys, and a delicious tahina concoction for moi.  Our movie of choice was Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs.  I don’t recommend this movie, but I’m pretty sure Seba enjoyed himself.  Fridays over here are all kinds of exciting.  🙂

Saturday morning we went out and about pretty early for a three-mile run around Ala Moana, and it was very slow going for me, even without the stroller.  Just over 12 minutes a mile.  I think I’m just holding back in case I get tired, but that just makes the dragging and lagging even tougher for me to recover from.  After the run, we dipped our toes in the ocean for a few glorious minutes and then headed over to a book sale here.  Once we saw the line, we quickly decided lunch was a better option, so we walked over to Loving Hut, a vegan restaurant that we’ve been to a few times.  There are two here in Honolulu, and each one has its own menu, so each one is independent of the others.  Check to see if there’s one near you here.

We got manapua to start; it’s a local dumpling-type of roll traditionally filled with beef, I believe, but ours was filled with veggies and soy meat, and served with a sweet and sour dipping sauce.  We got two entrees to split three ways:  lemongrass tofu, and longevity chili, both served with brown rice.  The prices are very reasonable and the portions are pretty solid, so we walked away satisfied.  I swam laps in the pool during Seba’s nap and we headed to church shortly thereafter.  Saturday night services are great, since Seba is well rested, and we don’t usually have to rush to get fed, dressed, and properly groomed like we do early Sunday morning.  🙂

Sunday, we savored a slow, lazy morning, and we drove over to Bellows to meet some family who are visiting from back home!  My cousin was stationed here about a year after we came, so we all spent the afternoon at the beach.

This morning was raining pretty steadily, and I had a heavy, filling, warm lunch on my mind, so I intended to replicate Loving Hut’s chili.  Well, folks, as it turns out, this chili has no competition.  LH’s chili, though delicious, was not spicy, and I love some heat.  However, I decided to tone this one down for Seba’s sake.  Even though he will eat just about anything, I thought a milder version was best.
Here’s how it all went down:

“Longevity” Chili

Goodies:  Black Beans, Lentils, Green Split Peas, Onion, Tomato or Tomato Sauce, Quinoa, Garlic, Carrots, Celery, Salt, Pepper, Water, Optional Spices

Soak 1 cup of black beans for a few hours, or cook them until they’re almost ready.  Cook over medium high heat.  Add 1/2 onion, about 10 baby carrots, two celery stalks, and 3 fat cloves of garlic, all chopped.  Add 3/4 cup split peas and 1/4 cup lentils (since that’s what I had left over), and cook until nearly done.  Add 1/2 cup quinoa, tomatoes or tomato sauce or paste, salt, pepper, and other spices, and cook until finished.  Add as much or as little water as you like.  I made mine semi-thick, and I got a good 6 cups in the end, though I forgot to measure the actual yield.

I realize summer is not an ideal chili season, but this is perfect for a crisp, rainy, Honolulu afternoon!

One thought on “Longevity

  1. Pingback: Recipes « Food, Family, and Fitness

Leave a Reply

