Father’s Day Goods.


Today, I honor the dads.  I’m lucky enough to have two, and an amazing granddad on top of that!  And my husband, Seba’s papá, is an amazing dad, as well.  I had envisioned a grand spread for this morning, to spoil him a bit with banana pancakes and hot coffee, but the truth is, I was lazy.  We don’t make a big deal of holidays for ourselves.  It’s all for the kiddo.  Besides, I had already spent the rest of the weekend baking a few treats especially for him.  That counts, right?  🙂

Rewind to Friday.  Friday is always a big to-do over here.  It’s our designated pizza and movie night.  I loathe the cinema for so many reasons, but mostly because I prefer getting in my jammies and stretching out comfortably at home, where I can hear and see everything without interruption.  This weekend, we watched Madagascar 2:  Escape to Africa.  The papá used to be the one and only pizza maker, but lately I’ve been holding my own.  So to kick off this epic weekend, I started early, making a kale and onion pizza, along with carob muffins and vanilla almond biscotti for the mister.  The boys I live with aren’t vegans, but I’d say Seba is probably 80% vegetarian, and the papá is practically a carnivore.  (He actually eats much less meat than before, but only for the practicality of not having to prepare two meals at every mealtime.)  We make it work.  Our meals lately have been creative, to say the least, simply because we always do a major grocery trip once every two weeks, but this time we stretched it to three weeks.  Needless to say, things were looking pretty bleak over here.  🙂  But the pizza was really tasty, regardless!  (For breads or other things I eat regularly through the week, I use a combination of flours, but for our pizzas, we just use plain old white flour!)

*Disclaimer:  I rarely measure anything because I’m lazy, so when reading recipes, be mindful of that!  I will try to be better about this and adjust these recipes as I make them, but for now, this will give you an idea of how things roll over here!

 Kale and Onion Pizza

Crust:
Flour, Warm Water, Yeast, Sea Salt, Olive Oil, Garlic (Optional)

Topping:
Onions, Kale, Garlic, Oil, Favorite spices (Optional)

In a mixing bowl, combine a few teaspoonfuls of yeast, a pinch or two of sea salt, and about a quarter cup of warm (not hot!) water.  Let it sit and bubble up for a few minutes.  Once it looks frothy, you can put as much or as little flour as you want, depending on how thick you like your pizza.  I probably use about 1 1/2 or 2 cups, if I had to guess, and we usually have leftovers.  Combine everything until smooth, using oil as necessary, and let it sit and rise for at least 30 minutes, covered with a moist towel.  Once it’s risen to your liking, roll it out, sprinkle chopped garlic and oil over it, and bake it at 350° for about 10 or 15 minutes, or until slightly brown.

Slice or chop half an onion, and fry on low heat with any spices you like.  De-stem about three kale leaves and chop coarsely.  Add to onion mixture and heat until wilted.  Add toppings to crust and bake for another 5 or 10 minutes.

Because this pizza had no sauce, I added tahina to mine, as I often do as a vegan.  It’s slightly different than tahini; I read somewhere that tahina is tahini with garlic, salt, pepper, and lemon.  Tahini is pretty expensive, so I make my own by grinding down my own sesame seeds with all the other goodies in a Magic Bullet.  Et, voilà!  Magic.  It’s the best stuff in the world.  I wouldn’t lie to you.  But, if you absolutely don’t love sesame seeds or don’t have them on hand, hummus is always a great pizza sauce, or the regular tomato sauce is great, too.  Pizza doesn’t need cheese to be delicious, thankfully, because I really don’t enjoy the vegan cheeses that I’ve tried!  I also sometimes add nutritional yeast to the sauces, because it does have a sort of tangy, cheesy flavor that I really enjoy.

After we finally went out for groceries (Hallelujah!), we spent a lazy afternoon at the pool, and I attempted a stove-top fruit crumble for the official Father’s Day dessert.  He made his own lunch.  Fail.  😐  Anyway, I looked around at numerous recipes and basically, it’s your typical fruit warmed in a pot with a little sugar and butter (optional), and the streusel topping is a little flour with some oats, crumbled together with brown sugar and butter (I used Smart Balance Light, which is vegan!).  So, here’s what I threw together:

 A frozen tropical fruit combination (mango, papaya, strawberry, pineapple). Warmed on the stove with a little cinnamon and mashed with a potato masher, but still pretty chunky. The oat mixture (also with cinnamon and SBL) toasted in a pan until combined and crumbly.

Once it’s warm enough, put the fruit in a bowl, top it with crumble, and enjoy.  No baking required!

I would have preferred a more traditional fruit like peaches or berries.  I’m a Southern girl, born and raised, so I do love those cobblers I grew up on!

I would love to hear of any other Father’s Day menus, memories, or gift ideas you came up with!

2 thoughts on “Father’s Day Goods.

  1. Pingback: Recipes « Food, Family, and Fitness

  2. Pingback: Pizza and a Movie « La Mama Vegana

Leave a Reply

